About Me

My photo
Minneapolis, MN
Small town raised. Loves the Big City. Loves my husband and my canine kids. Love all things vintage.

Saturday, May 14, 2011

134/365

Happy Saturday.  We had our first open house today.  Our realtor got good feedback and said it was busy - the former owners even stopped in.  Cool or weird?  I haven't quite decided yet.

We drove around with the dogs for 2 looong hours.  Too bad the weather was horrible or we could have walked them - but instead we toured NE Minneapolis.  Shopped at the Quarry and ended up eventually at Ragstock where Lucas got some work shorts and his Mad Men outfit (for $10) that looks something like this:


I just need the lighter and a tie clip....  

Tomorrow we're having brunch with Dan and Bri at the Modern Cafe in NE.  The weather better cooperate too - we have to take Flat Stanley out for his tour before he heads back home to Sarah in New Jersey!


Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!  We'll be watching King's Speech and more Nurse Jackie after Lucas gets done killing things on the Xbox.  :D

Friday, May 13, 2011

133/365

TGIF!  Last night we went to CAKE - amazing!  They put on a great show.  Lots of audience interaction.  Small venue.  Love. Love. Love.  We went to The Inn for dinner.  It was good.  My only issue was the menu - its kind of limited - for instance under "Entree" it said "Chicken", "Beef", "Lamb", "Sturgeon", "Gnocchi" - mkay.  I'd like a salad please?  Soup perhaps? They had one salad under appetizers which was awesome but it would never fill you up.  The portions for the entrees were huge - I swear to God I have 1/2 a chicken on my plate.  Lucas ordered a "Fish Sandwich" and basically got 2 pieces of batter fried fish on some soggy bread.... not at all what he expected.  My friend Julie got the pork which was kind of bland.  Anyway, it was good - not mindblowing, but I'm not sure I'll be rushing to go back.  So, pictures:

This is the one and only salad -  a beet salad.  Really good and I don't love beets!


Appetizers - they were basically potato stuffed wontons - interesting and good.


My half a chicken:



Dessert - almond infused cake with rosewater whipped cream and candied apricots.  Decent but not for $12.


My illegal photo of the State Theater where we saw CAKE.


Grandma sent presents for Basil and Chuck's May birthdays:






Thanks Grandma and Grandpa!

And lastly - my planter to hold my herbs - isn't it awesome!?  Lucas made if of course.


Happy weekend.  Let's hope we can get above 60 at some point....

Thursday, May 12, 2011

132/365

Happy Thursday!   So it was 88 a day ago and now its like 55.  For the love of the land.  We're all going to have pneumonia in this state soon.   This cracked me up - you might have to click to enlarge it.


Tonight we're having dinner at The Inn in Minneapolis and then heading over to the State Theater to see CAKE!  Review tomorrow.  :-)


I'm off tomorrow to get the house jazzed up for our first open house.   Spring cleaning and flowers are on the agenda.  Happy weekend!

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

131/365

Wordless Wednesday 







Because I could look at funny cat pictures all day.  :-) 

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

130/365

Happy Summer!  88 degrees in Minneapolis today.  Still 86.  Apparently there is a tornado warning for Hennepin County but its not even dark out our window yet, so who knows.  Dog leashes are ready and we're in the basement so we're ready if need be.  

This is me currently (slightly less manly though):



Anyone have any thoughts on cell phones!?!?  I hate mine currently.  Its a T-Mobile My Touch.  We've had T-Mobile for awhile now - 5 years maybe?  We had Verizon but when we moved we didn't get reception at the bottom of the hill where the house is so we switched to T-Mobile.  Never had any issues with service, etc.  I got a My Touch last summer/fall - I don't remember exactly when but I'll be finding out!  I've had issues with the phone itself - I don't think its the T-Mobile service because Lucas never has issues.  So my phone started just "dropping service" - a big X over the bars.  In the middle of calls, in the middle of texts, etc.  I took it in sometime this winter and they first switched out the SIM card and said that will fix it.  Yeah right.  Didn't do a dang thing.  So I took it back in and they just gave me a new phone (another My Touch).  This one has worked great until about the last couple weeks and it started doing it again - dropping coverage.  Now I have it turned on and it won't load contacts. I can't even DIAL IT!  I can get on the internet fine but that doesn't help me make a phone call.  SIGH.   These stupid smart phones are not so smart.   We're contemplating switching service again because we aren't thrilled with AT&T buying T-Mobile.   I'm going to T-Mobile tomorrow or Thursday to get a new freaking phone.  AND to check when our contract ends..... 

So what phone would you recommend?   And don't say "iPhone" - I don't want one.  No offense to my iPhone fan friends but I'm not interested.  I know people who love them and I know people who hate them.  My main things - I don't like a touch keyboard because I text a lot and I suck at touch screen texting and I want internet.   Any recommendations on phones or cell phone companies?


Monday, May 9, 2011

129/365

Mr. Vinci soaked up the sun while I did Pilates tonight.....  Happy Monday!




Sunday, May 8, 2011

128/365

Guess who won 2 tickets to Antiques Roadshow in Minneapolis on July 9!?!???!!   Lucas did!! Well, Lucas' email address did - I entered him.  :) So excited!!  Now what should I take!??  Going to have to hit up Grandma.


On another note, the strawberry lemon trifle was A-mazing!   Will definitely make that again.  :)  

And Happy Mothers Day, everyone!  Especially my mama!